NEON Music Management

NEON Artists

Munk Duane


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Munk Duane is taking a new approach with the release strategy of his 6th and 7th albums “Theory of History”, which will be delivered in the form of a two part entry over the course of 2017 and 2018. Part 1 was released digitally, and in limited CD pressing, Fall 2017 and Part 2 in June 2018.

Munk explains, “With such a tight listener focus on singles in today’s market, I am essentially releasing the album in smaller batches of ‘collected singles’. Given current listener habits, it’s simply easier for them to engage and absorb 15 minutes of music rather than a full length album. I will always be an evangelist of the long form album format, but to ignore modern listener trends feels short-sighted to me. This strategy also has the benefit of allowing more touches with my fan base, more frequently, throughout the year. Should be a fun experiment”.

The music on “Theory of History” is deeply rooted in modern interpretations of Soul, Pop and Blues, with tips of the hat to everyone from Curtis Mayfield and Marvin Gaye to Brian Wilson and The Rolling Stones. A quasi-political thread runs through the lyrics, commenting on the contentious tenor in modern America.

The folks involved with breathing life into “Theory of History” read as a “Who’s Who” of the most prominent names in the region… drummer Mike Levesque (David Bowie, Candy Butchers, Seven Mary Three), organ player Jim Gambino (Swinging Steaks) and New England Music Award Producer of the Year Sean McLaughlin on bass, who also all serve as Duane’s live band. The basics for the album were recorded at McLaughlin’s studio 37′ Productions in Rockland MA, as well as Munk Duane’s studio Bad Stella. The album was Mastered by Grammy winning engineer Mark Donahue at SoundMirror, Jamaica Plain, MA. All songs were written and produced by Munk Duane.